About SPC

The Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission (SPC) is comprised of both a 60+ member governing body (The Commission), as well as a 50+ member administrative arm – all working together on the goals of Transportation, Planning & Development and Information Systems in the Southwestern Pennsylvania region. Learn more about each below:

Mission Statement

The Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission is the cooperative forum for regional collaboration, planning, and public decision-making. Operating with public involvement and trust, the Commission develops plans and programs for public investments; fulfills federal and state requirements for transportation, economic development, and local government assistance programs.

Our Region

The Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission is proud to serve our diverse and unique region – encompassing urban, suburban and rural neighborhoods. Our expansive riverfronts, eclectic neighborhoods joined by bountiful bridges, quaint countrysides and buzzing metropolitan areas tell the story of our rich history and dynamic vision for the future.

The Commission

The Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission is the regional planning agency serving the 10-county Southwestern Pennsylvania region. As the official Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), SPC directs the use of state and federal transportation and economic development funds allocated to the region—approximately $35 billion through 2045. SPC helps counties, cities, municipalities, and townships access state and federal transportation funds.

SPC’s ten-county region includes the City of Pittsburgh and the counties of Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Greene, Indiana, Lawrence, Washington and Westmoreland.


The Corporation

The Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission’s administrative arm is the Southwestern Pennsylvania Corporation, a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization.